Life of a Twenty-Something

Just a twenty-something living the dream, trying to check off the bucket list, one entry at a time

Carpe Diem (An unorthodox look at New Year’s Resolutions)

Hey there my peeps (that is if anyone is actually reading this). So I haven’t written anything in forever, and I’m sorry. College is hard! But anyway, I figured I’d make it up to you with a blog post. Yay!

So New Year’s Eve is tomorrow (duh) and everyone is going to be asking about resolutions. Well guess what? I don’t make them. I never have and I never will. Sure, like anyone, I have ideas for the new year and make promises to myself, but I refuse to call them resolutions.

So often you hear of people making resolutions and then breaking them a week later. And really, I don’t blame them. Promising to make a change for a whole year and then starting cold turkey in one day is a daunting thought. It’s almost like we’re setting ourselves up to fail so that when we do inevitably deviate from our promise, we don’t feel too bad. At this point, it’s almost socially acceptable to break resolutions. And that’s a hell of a lot easier to deal with than the disappointment that would come if we legitimately tried to make a change and then faltered.

But why should we be so hard on ourselves? Change is hard. Change is gradual. It doesn’t come easy, and really, it shouldn’t. Anything that is ever worth achieving is difficult. One of my favorite quotes is “If it doesn’t challenge you, then it doesn’t change you.” Our society is so obsessed with perfection and instant gratification that we tend to forget it’s ok to falter. It’s ok to make mistakes and screw up and be completely lost. After all, half the fun of life is all the messy, complicated, gloriously chaotic moments where we have absolutely no freaking clue what we’re doing, but we soldier on anyway. And in the end, those triumphs of making it through to the other side, that’s what we remember. I mean, no one really remembers that easy victory, but that hard-fought, dogfight, blood, sweat and tears win? Yeah, those are the ones we remember.

So don’t be afraid to fail. Don’t set yourself up to fail. Hell, I know I’m not perfect. And I know that come this New Year’s, I’m going to say I’m going to try to go to the gym at least once or twice every single week. And I also know that come February, when it’s freezing and I’m running on four hours of sleep, I’m definitely going to choose my bed. And pizza. Always choose pizza.

Besides, why should we wait until January 1st to make a change? Why should we wait for one day to start living our lives the way we want? It’s your life, and you can make a change any damn time you want to. So do it. Life is far too short to be living in misery. We can’t be happy all the time, but that’s no reason why we shouldn’t try. There is no “right time” to start your life or be happy. That time is now.

But, now I’m going to play devil’s advocate because I’m difficult like that. I’m not saying you shouldn’t make changes or resolutions. Today is the day to seize the day. And January 1st is just as good a day as any. Setting a goal is a great way to make a change. All I’m suggesting is think about it in a different way. Change your mindset so that you’re not setting yourself up to fail.

So, In Omnia Paratus. Travel, see the world, read that book, finish that project, accomplish that goal, write that novel. Just do it. Because you can do it. I promise. Really. Because guess what? Even if you don’t necessarily achieve exactly what you planned, you’re going to have one hell of an experience along the way. I can almost guarantee it. After all, the best life experiences are almost always the unplanned ones. James Russell Lowell once said, “Fate loves the fearless.”

So be fearless. Tempt fate. Here’s to a great 2014.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2013 by and tagged , , , .
