Life of a Twenty-Something

Just a twenty-something living the dream, trying to check off the bucket list, one entry at a time

Midnight Baked Goods

So I’m going to preface this post with a quick note. One of my amazingly talented best friends Connor Lenahan has a blog too. Check out Unbreakable, it’s awesome. One of his newest projects is gathering guest contributors (like me) to write posts about pretty much anything. My first post was about the wonder of Insomnia Cookies. So of course I’m sharing it with you all! Enjoy!

t’s 11:00 on a Thursday night. I should be doing homework or studying for the math quiz I have tomorrow morning. But I’m not. Instead, I’m listening to the Mumford & Sons Pandora station, drinking coffee, tweeting about bowties and writing a blog post about Insomnia Cookies. Hey, I’m a college journalist. I’m nothing if not a master multi-tasker.

But come on, man. You’ve got to admit, that’s a way better use of my time than reviewing the simple interest formula (I=PRT, in case you were wondering). Insomnia Cookies are just one of those things that deserve their own blog post.

For those of you who are unenlightened heathens and don’t know the joy that is Insomnia Cookies, I’ll break it down. Insomnia Cookies is a cookie company with stores across the country, many of which are in cities and college towns. Insomnia Cookies creates delicious goods such as brownies and ice cream sandwiches, but their claim to fame and hallmark is their cookies. But that’s not even the best part. Insomnia Cookies is open until 3 a.m. and here’s the coolest bit: THEY. DELIVER.

 

Yes, you read that correctly. There exists a company that BAKES AND DELIVERS FRESH COOKIES TO YOUR DOOR LATE AT NIGHT. If you need convincing of a higher power, I can’t think of a better argument.

Now, I’m sure there are some of you saying “But they deliver late at night, that must mean that the cookies aren’t all that fresh or all that good. They must cater to the crowd that just wants late-night food. The cookies probably aren’t all that you’re hyping them up to be.”

Oh how wrong you are, my child. So woefully wrong. You see, people who have the late-night munchies after a night out don’t order Insomnia. That’s what Taco Bell is for, fool (no offense to the Taco Bell faithful).

 

Ordering and eating Insomnia Cookies is a transcendent experience. I’ve ordered several batches of Insomnia since I entered college, and every time, they’ve been delivered while they’re still warm and gooey and the giant chocolate chips are practically still melting.

 

But it’s more than that. My dorm floor has a tradition of ordering a batch of cookies to be delivered the night when we schedule classes for the upcoming semester. Scheduling is a decently stressful experience, so we like to reward ourselves for a schedule well made with a round of cookies. It’s become a near-sacred tradition and we do it every semester without fail.

Ordering Insomnia is also a great way to make new friends and bring people together. We just ordered a batch last night, so in order to get enough cookies to justify buying the 24 count package, my friends and I opened the sale up to the rest of our floor. For a solid hour, I had people I’ve never met traipsing in and out of my room, ordering cookies. And then, despite meeting for the first time that night, we all gathered in the lounge to eat cookies together once they were delivered. So there. I’ve just imparted an essential college truth. Food=friends.

Ordering Insomnia is just one of those crazy college experiences you’ll look back upon in 20 years and smile. When you’re 40 and watching your weight has become a full-time job, you’ll look back on your college years when it was perfectly acceptable to order a batch of ridiculously good (and ridiculously unhealthy) cookies at midnight and devour them like nobody’s business.

Because much of college is like that. It’s about taking the small, seemingly random or insignificant moments and making them into memories. It’s about making something as simple as eating a cookie that reminds you of your mom’s homemade creations. It’s about meeting new friends and growing closer with the friends you already have. It’s about taking each moment for what it’s worth. It’s about being young and free and idealistic and carefree. It’s about taking a moment to ignore your diet and your homework and just eat the damn cookie because it’s just that good, and it makes you feel happy.

Huh. Who knew a chocolate-chip cookie was so philosophical?

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2013 by and tagged .
