Life of a Twenty-Something

Just a twenty-something living the dream, trying to check off the bucket list, one entry at a time

Birthday Eve and What the Heck is this Blog and Why am I Reading It?

Hello world. If you’re reading this, you probably want to know why. So here goes. I’ll attempt to explain it, because I don’t quite know for certain myself. But all I know is that it started last night. 

You see, my 20th birthday is tomorrow. Actually, it’s less than 6 hours until my 20th birthday. This means that in six short hours, I become a “twenty-something.” Does that sound as weird to you as it does to me? But really. Think of it like this: for the last six years of my life, since I turned 13, I’ve labeled myself as a teenager. When you’re 12 going on 13, switching from “tween” to “teen” isn’t that big of a transition because jeez, you just want to grow up already. But somehow, the transition from 19 to 20, from “teen” to “twenty-something” feels a whole lot different because we’ve reached that point where we’re like “no, I don’t wanna grow up. I’m good, man.” Because we’re becoming more adult by the day. By the time I turn 20, I will have been a legal adult for 2 whole years. I can sign contracts, vote, get a loan, buy a lottery ticket, serve my country and make my own medical decisions. Still can’t buy a beer, but hey, I will in a year. So yeah, it’s a different transition.

Maybe it’s because I read way too many Buzzfeed articles (love that site) with titles like “What Life in Your Twenties Looks Like” or “Things Every Twenty-Something Does.” Maybe it’s because there’s an expectation that, as a twenty-something, I should have my life figured out, my ducks in a row. I should be on the fast-track to the dream job, hurtling towards the fancy house with the fancy car and the fancy husband. I mean, I’ll be 28 at my 10 year high school reunion. It’s not out of left field that many of my classmates (maybe me) will be married, have a kid or two and be putting money away into a 401 (k) and college fund. (What is a 401k, by the way?)

But guess what? I’ll let you in on a not-so-secret secret. I’m not. Not even close. Don’t get me wrong, I think I’m in a pretty good place. I’m in college, I love my major, I have no desire to steal a yacht (50 points to Gryffindor if you understand that reference) or drop out to “find myself.” I have a summer job and an internship. But don’t let that fool you. I’m nowhere near having my life figured out. I’m a broke college kid (aren’t we all?) who cares more about getting her B.A than getting her M.R.S. Also, I’m a journalism major, which means I’ll probably be living in a crappy one-bedroom apartment for a very long time instead of the fancy house with the picket fence. I’ll get there eventually, but let’s be real. 

So, before I get too off-track, I’ll get back to my original point: why I started this blog in the first place. Back to last night. I was sitting on my couch at 1 a.m. (I’m a night owl) and I was thinking about being a twenty-something and how suddenly everything feels different. Before you resurrect Freud to psychoanalyze me, I’m fine. No quarter-life crises here. But still, I was a little weirded out. And then, I found this video. (Again on Buzzfeed; told you I loved that site).

10 Trips You NEED To Take in Your Twenties

And I absolutely loved it. I was born with wanderlust in my soul. I was born to be a traveler. I grew up reading my dad’s National Geographic magazines after he was finished with them. I love maps. I love exploring. It’s a major reason why I want to be a journalist. And that’s when I had the idea for this blog. And I couldn’t shake it.

I thought “why not? Why can’t I travel to all these cool places and have all these cool experiences?” My two life mottos are Carpe Diem (Seize the Day) and In Omnia Paratus (Ready for Anything). So that’s what this blog is about. Seizing the Day and Being Ready for Anything. 

I’m going to create a bucket-list of my twenties. It’ll be part of my larger bucket list, but it’ll be made up of things that I can specifically accomplish in the ten years of being a twenty-something. And I’ll blog about this new weird thing of being in my twenties and college and traveling and generally living the dream. 

So if you’ve made it to the end of this novel, I salute you. And thank you. Thank you for reading this and considering it important enough for your time. In reality, this blog is something I have to write. I have to get it all out there. In the end, it wouldn’t matter if not a soul read it. But it’s always better to have an audience. So thanks for reading I hope to see you with my next post. I can’t promise it will always be glamorous. But rest assured, it will always be real and (hopefully funny). I like to think I’m funny. Also, I promise not every post will be a novel!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2013 by and tagged , , , .

Navigation

